Cleo Gibson Education Grants

In the summer of 2020, our Branch learned that Cleo Gibson, a past president and long-time member of Nevada County AAUW, had left generous bequests to support women’s education both to our Branch and to AAUW National. Our plans to honor her generosity with some form of recognition were held up by Covid, but a small committee led by Jennifer Wilkerson and aided by Ava Johnson put together a video honoring Cleo’s life and her legacy. That video was first shown at the May, 2022 Luncheon.

You can Click here to view Cleo’s heart-warming and inspiring story.

As you’ll learn, her legacy is now benefitting many. Part of the money – more than $15,000 – was awarded to four different community organizations working to enhance women’s education. We have posted articles about each in the Lodestone during the past year and will summarize next year as their projects close. The bulk of Cleo’s grant to our Nevada County Branch, however, went to our Local Scholarship Committee. The first Cleo Scholarships of $4,000 a year, renewable for up to 4 years, were awarded in June, 2021; you’ve learned about the recipients from Lodestone articles during the past year.

The four $4,000 2022-23 Cleo Scholarships were awarded as follows:
• 2022 – Rio Kane, Inter. Relations Lawyer/Interpreter; Liaison: Franny Erickson
• 2022 – Aneka Torgrimson&, Asian Amer. Studies/Pol. Science; Liaison: Ann Shulse
• 2021 – Alyssa Downes, Agribusiness; Liaison: Ann Shulse
• 2021 – Mady Jaramillo, Business; Liaison: Bonnie Curtis

Shown below are previously awarded individuals and groups.

Cleo Gibson 2021 grant recipient Natalie Hart is pictured here with L-R: Cheryl Morris, Natalie, Robin Laverty-Reves, and Ann Shulse. Natalie took part in the In Concert Sierra Composers project. The Gibson grant funded her tuition and software.

Bright Futures

Community Beyond Violence

InConcert Sierra Young Composers

Caregivers Advantage

Have a look at the APPLICATION if you know of anyone or any organization deserving of such a scholarship or education grant. These scholarships/grants will be awarded every year.