Our Mission

Scholarship winner


AAUW has been empowering women as individuals and as a community since 1881. For more than 130 years, we have worked together as a national grassroots organization to improve the lives of millions of women and their families.

AAUW-NC is a mission- and action-based organization. Our mission is advancing equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Our actions focus on women and girls in Nevada County, but when a state or national effort impacts our county, we act at that level as well.

Supporting Community Efforts

STEAM Expo for Students


Advocacy at Work

On April 1, our branch joined other Northern California branches in at our State Capitol in Sacramento to meet in the Senate Gallery, interact with legislators, and discuss the Equal Pay Resolution. In front: Bup Greenwood (L to R): Shirley Zeff, Cece Royal, Melanie Heckel, Ann Shulse, Virginia Horowitz, Joan Demarce-Rutledge, Gretchen Corbin, Jeanne Duerst, Carolyn Feuille, and Chris Casey.

Melanie Heckel (l) VP of Funds and Kait Murray (r). Kait spoke at a meeting about a program at UC Davis to encourage young women to study math, science, engineering.

Community Service at Work–Edi Silverman Award

—  About the Award
—  2019 Awardee
—  Past Awardees

Since 2003, our Branch has honored a member who has made a sustained, significant contribution to the community through public service.  To be recognized with this award, an individual must:

–Be a current member of AAUW-NC and a current resident of Nevada County

–Have made a significant contribution to the community through volunteer and professional activities that relate to the AAWU Mission

–Exhibit leadership qualities.

Each spring, members are asked to nominate individuals that they believe meet these criteria. A committee headed by the current recipient makes the final selection.

2019 Award

Ann Shulse (l) 2018 Awardee presents 2019 award to Stephanie Facchini (r).

At the Annual Meeting, the AAUW-NC Branch presented Stephanie Facchini with its 2019 EdiSilverman Community Service Award.  Since 2003, the Edi Silverman Community Service Award has recognized annually a branch member who has made outstanding contributions to the community.

In announcing the award selection, Ann Shulse, 2018 award recipient, pointed to Facchini’s deep commitment of service to others and dedication to children. A teacher and mentor teacher in the Nevada City School System for more than two decades, Facchini took on the role of speech coach for students competing in the Nevada County Speech Tournament, and upon retirement served as Tournament Chairperson for several years.  Though retired, she remains involved as both a long-term and short-term substitute, volunteering extra time to attend student/parent meetings and conferences and spearheading fundraising efforts for student field trips. 

Her support of the children in Nevada County includes as Head Art Docent and classroom docent at Deer Creek and Seven Hills Schools as well as liaison between Nevada City School District and Sierra Harvest to bring healthy, fresh food tasting experiences to children. In addition, Facchini has played a leadership role for different Girl Scout troops over the years.  An active member of the AAUW Tech Trek STEM program, which provides opportunities and support to local girls, she helps coordinate Tech Trek at UC Davis camp staff.   Facchini also has volunteered with the STEM into Knowledge event for middle-school- aged girls held at Nevada Union High School and the Nevada County Superintendent of School’s STEAM Expo.    

Past Awardees

The recipients have been:

2003  Edi Silverman
2004  Marion Becker
2005  Zaida Petievich
2006  Madelyn Helling
2007  Carolyn Standley
2008  Cheryl Morris
2009  Elaine Sierra
2010  Sue Miller
2011  Sharon O’Hara
2012 Shirley Zeff
2013  Stephanie Norton
2014 Bernadette Sylvester
2015 Martha Rees
2016 Melanie Heckel
2017 Francesca Ericson
2018 Ann Shulse