Local Scholarships

College Scholarships for Nevada County Women


2016 Awardees, from left to right:  Nora Pizzella (NU), Tessa Carovich (NU), Katlyn Gustavson (Bear River), Elyssa Kohnke (Ghidotti Early College High School).

The Nevada County branch has awarded college scholarships to 171 Nevada County women since 1946.   Currently, we award up to five college scholarships and one grant each year. Four scholarships are for graduating high-school seniors who will be attending a four-year college and one is for a woman planning on attending Sierra College. Ask your high school or Sierra College counselor for further information.

A grant is also available in 2017 for a woman who is returning to college after taking time off for a year or more. See the qualifications and application below.

Scholarship Winners Graduate

Sierra College Graduate Michelle Lefebvre (c) will be studying software engineering
at Arizona State University. She received a $2,000 scholarship. AAUW-NC member
Andrea Martin (l) and Terry Juhl (r) were there to represent our branch and congratulate
We are unable to show photos of the high school grads who won scholarships.  But here are the details.  From Nevada Union we have Andrea Beltran, who, plans to
attend Harvard and study Biomedical Engineering; Sierra Raskie Jeska,
who, will attend Swarthmore University and major
in Physics, Astrophysics and Engineering Physics; and Natalie Johnson, our Darlene
Paulsen** Memorial Scholarship recipient who, plans
to pursue International Relations at San Diego State University.

Altogether we had 7 scholarship recipients. Andrea and Sierra 
received $2,000. Natalie Johnson  received $2,500. Other scholarship winners are: Brighten Drake, Ghidotti Early College High School, will attend UC Berkeley and study Applied Math. Her scholarship was $2,000 as was Abigail Weir’s. Abigail attended Bear River High School
and is headed to UC Davis to study Environmental Science. We also awarded a re-entry
scholarship to Ashley Votaw  who graduated from Sierra College
and is going to Sacramento State University to study Accounting. Her scholarship was $1,000.

**Darlene Paulsen was a long-time AAUW member with a passion for world issues
who founded our local Great Decisions discussion group, inspiring others to
explore important political, economic, and moral topics. Branch members
donated $2,500 in her memory, funding a one-time scholarship for a Nevada
County woman majoring in political science or international relations.
(Information provided by Ann Shulse and Bup Greenwood)

If You Are Considering Returning to School

What is the Charitable Trust?

Want to Join the Local Scholarship Committee?

The AAUW-NC re-entry grant is being offered again in 2017. You qualify to apply if you:

  • Are a woman residing in western Nevada County,
  • Are interested in working toward a specific post-high school certificate or degree,
  • Can demonstrate a financial need,
  • Your education was interrupted for at least a year,

You may qualify for a grant of $500 to $1000. Click here for an application.
Completed applications must be submitted before April 1 of each year.

Everything You Need to Know About the Charitable Trust

By Cheryl Morris, Charitable Trust Coordinator

What is the connection between Nevada County Branch, Local Scholarship Committee, All About Unique Women, and the Nevada County Branch Charitable Trust? If you’re not quite clear, you’re not alone. Read on and be enlightened.

Not all AAUW branches give local scholarships, and few have their own trust. The Nevada County Branch has been awarding scholarships since 1946…. 70 years! The Nevada County Branch Charitable Trust was established in 1970 with an initial donation of $10.00. Its purpose is exclusively educational; it holds the funds from which local scholarships are awarded each year. It is a separate nonprofit organization linked to the branch by the terms of the trust. Three branch members serve as trustees: Ann Shulse, Joanne Weatherly, and Cheryl Morris. They meet regularly with pro bono financial adviser Astrid Pryor, CFP, who is also a branch member.

Assets of the trust are invested through Charles Schwabb. There is also a checking account, out of which scholarship funds are paid directly to the schools our recipients attend.

All About Unique Women is the branch fundraiser for educational purposes. Proceeds are divided so that 75% goes to the Charitable Trust and 25% to AAUW Funds Educational Opportunities Fund. Thus, when you participate in this event, besides having fun, you are contributing directly to our scholarship program.

The Local Scholarship Committee is made up of the trustees and volunteers from the branch. The committee decides the number and amount of scholarships awarded each year as well as selecting the recipients.

We are proud that the trust has grown over the years, while at the same time we have increased both the number and amount of scholarships awarded. In addition to funds that come from All About Unique Women, direct contributions for local scholarships are always welcome.  

Want to Join the Committee?

If you are committed to advancing educational opportunities for women, you may be interested in participating in the Local Scholarship Committee’s work, email or call Deb Cubberley or Betty Jane Comegys.